Melissa outfielder Tate Whittington was named Class 4A honorable mention all-state for the 2018 season by the Texas Sports Writers Association.

It is the third straight season the senior earned honorable mention all-state by the TSWA.

Argyle pitcher/designated hitter Bryson Hudgens was voted as the 4A Player of the Year and Argyle’s Ricky Griffin was selected as the classification’s Coach of the Year after the Eagles won the state championship with an undefeated record.