A pair of Melissa Cardinals earned Class 4A first-team all-state honors for the 2017 season by the Texas Associated Press Sports Editors.

Voting is based on regular season statistics only.

Sophomore quarterback Brendon Lewis and junior defensive lineman Collin O’Neal were the two picked for the first team.

Lewis completed 120-of-170 passes for 2,563 yards and 30 touchdowns with eight interceptions and added 89 carries for 828 yards and 11 touchdowns.

O’Neal finished with 78 tackles, 20 for a loss, seven sacks, four forced fumbles and three fumble recoveries.

Melissa sophomore defensive back Chance Mapps, Anna senior defensive lineman Markyel Jones and Gainesville senior running back Calion Baker were all named honorable mention all-state.

Mapps collected 58 tackles with five interceptions, 13 pass break-ups and two touchdowns.

Jones had 55 tackles, 13 for a loss, and 11 sacks.

Baker totaled 1,481 yards and 17 touchdowns on 176 carries and caught 40 passes for 728 yards and nine touchdowns.

Wichita Falls Hirschi junior running back Daimarqua Foster was selected as the Offensive Player of the Year and Argyle junior defensive lineman Chase Petters was picked as the Defensive Player of the Year.