The Austin College A-Board and A-Board President Kirk Hughes announced the 2018 induction class into the Kangaroo Athletics Hall of Honor. The individuals will be honored during Austin College Legends Weekend on August 3-5.

This latest class includes Kola Alade ‘10, Greg Cason ‘84, Barrett Jenkins ‘94, Keith Johnston ‘71, and Veronica Stephens ‘07. Former women’s basketball coach Robin Potera will also be an honorary inductee at next year’s Legends Awards Dinner on August 4.

The 2018 recipient of the Coach Joe Spencer Award for Meritorious Service and Lifetime Achievement in Coaching is longtime coach and administrator Claude Webb ‘77, who also competed as a student-athlete at Austin College.

Alade played for the men’s basketball program and was a three-time All-Conference performer. He became a member of the 1,000-point club in addition to being named the 2009-10 Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference Player of the Year.

Cason was a four-year letterman for the Kangaroo football program, starting on the 1981 National Championship team. He earned All-TIAA in 1982 and 1983 and was an NAIA All-American in 1983.

Jenkins was a four-year starter for the football program, earning All-TIAA honors in 1992 and 1993. He was also named as an NAIA All-American in 1993.

Johnston was a four-year letterwinner and starter for the Kangaroo football team, playing on the offensive line and being named team captain in 1970. He helped the team to a No. 6 national ranking and an 8-1 record in 1968.

Stephens earned All-America recognition three times for the Austin College volleyball program, and was named All-Conference all four years of her career. She was also a three-time winner of the Gene Day Award as the most outstanding female athlete at Austin College.

Potera coached the Austin College women’s basketball program from 1994-1998, guiding the ‘Roos to a record of 85-47 during her time at the helm. Her teams won three American Southwest Conference championships and reached the Sweet 16 at the national tournament in both 1997 and 1998.