Hopewell Baptist Church

Hopewell Baptist Church

Hopewell Baptist will mark

139th Church Anniversary

DENISON — Hopewell Baptist Church of Denison will celebrate its 139th Anniversary at 3 p.m. Sunday. Rev. Louis Laurant, pastor of the Little Flock Baptist Church in Forney will preach the sermon. Other invited guest churches, along with Little Flock, are Alpha and Omega, Antioch, Iron Ore and Mt. Vernon Baptist churches, all of Denison.

Hopewell was organized in 1874, two years after the city of Denison was organized. Its first pastor was Rev. W.M. Jackson. Revs. Billy Box of Harmony Baptist, Sherman, Henry Adams and Simon Miller and John Slaughter of the Preston Bend area were instrumental in its organization.

With the southwest corner of Rusk Ave. and Bond St. as its first location, worship services were held at various locations, and in 1915, a cornerstone was laid at 531 W. Bond St. Hopewell worshiped there until they obtained a new building at 601 W. Bond on the 1st Sunday in March 1995.

Hopewell has a rich history including when 100 converts were baptized at one time, to when former Supreme Court Justice Thurgood Marshall spoke at a Regional NAACP Convention. Many pastors have been responsible for Hopewell’s history, including two who have served more than 25 years. Rev. C.H. Turner served 27 years, and current pastor, Rev. C.E. Evans, who is approaching his 32nd year as pastor. Other influential pastors in Hopewell’s history were Rev. A.R. and Sutton Griggs, G.B. Williams, U.S. Patterson and L.B. George.

The public is invited to share in this celebration.

Rev. C.E. Evans is the pastor and Freda Jenkins is the program chairperson.

Hopewell continues as a beacon light to the community.