The annual Circle of Success Recognition Event recognizes the best of Sherman ISD by awarding innovative campus projects through sponsorships and identifying exceptional students and educators. The selection of teachers, students, and innovative campus projects begins early in the year.

Due to social distancing guidelines, this year’s celebration of educators and students took a different look. Students, administrators and supporters gathered at the Sherman Independent School District for a caravan around the building.

“Luke Motley is this year's Circle of Success Chair. During a Zoom Circle committee meeting just nine days ago, the idea of a caravan was tossed around. I believe Robin Phillips and Leigh Walker first suggested it, ” says Kathy Bickerstaff, Executive Director of the Sherman Education Foundation

There were more than 50 cars of family, friends and supporters that lined the block in the small parade that was guided by the Sherman Police Department. Fighting the winds, honorees and family stood at the administration building to receive drive by congratulations, gifts, candy, confetti and even the occasional bubbles.

SHS educators were encouraged to nominate students on the basis of their character, leadership, and service. The students that were selected for recognition were asked to choose a SISD educator that they feel has been an inspiration along their educational journey to be honored alongside them.

This year, SISD will be awarding more than $58,000 to fund 43 projects that will enrich students at all of its campuses. Since the first year of Circle of Success in 2001, the Sherman Education Foundation has raised more than $2.6 million to benefit Sherman ISD students through the funding of projects to enhance, enrich and educate.

2020 Student Honorees: Ethan Bedgood, Tha V Cer, Tianie DaCosta, Justin Davis, James Drenner, Kylie Jackman, Sarah McGinn and Gage Smith

2020 Educator Honorees: Douglas Holtzclaw, Steve Schutts, Anthony Shearer, James Smith, Presley McMahan, Ricky Wilson, Anthony Hartman and Tyler Atnip.