The Denison Education Improvement Council recently got the chance to offer input on the preliminary school calendar for 2019-2020.

The council is a joint effort between the school district and members of the community who come together two to three times a year to address concerns facing the school district. The council sends those concerns to the Denison Independent School District board of trustees via a report Superintendent Henry Scott gives.

Scott said the district’s goal was to design a preliminary school calendar that would finish before Memorial Day. The district was considering a start date of Aug. 15 and an end date of May 25, which is Memorial Day. The calendar contains a total of 85 days in the first semester and 90 days in the second semester. There are also a total of seven staff development days and three teacher work days with a single early release day, set for April 15 next year.

Scott will take the comments from the meeting and prepare a report for the school board at its next monthly meeting. The board will have to discuss the calendar and consider any changes or alterations the board wishes to make.

Denison ISD Director of Assessment and Special Programs Regina Prigge gave the council a presentation on six annual reports that had been done on the state of the district. Topics covered were the district’s accountability ratings, State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness performance, crime and violence statistics, drop out and college readiness statistics and data on changes to ACT and SAT testing.

She showed slides covering reports which had previously been released to the public containing information on the various topics.

The council is a mixture of citizens ranging from parents, business owners and members of the public as well as representatives from each campus, including education and support staff.

In addition to Scott, the council is made up of parents Duane Thompson and Jianna Berry, citizens Debbie Sparlin and Jason Young, business owners José Arellano and Ashley Franklin, teachers Laura Allison, Charissa Burkhead, Jennifer Brown, Nicole Douda, Laslie Rainey and Mindy Caver, and non-teaching staff Kim Potter, Nondas Bullard and Jessica Wilson.