Sherman will have two contested City Council races in November, but there won’t be a change in the mayor position.

The filing period for the city’s municipal elections ended Monday and Mayor David Plyler is unopposed in his re-election bid, meaning he will start his second term following the Nov. 7 election.

“I am so appreciative and thankful to be able to represent the city and work on so many of the projects that we have and events that we host during the year,” Plyler said via email. “There is a sense of excitement in the city right now, and those of us in City leadership want to do our part to help continue the growth and opportunity we are experiencing. Thinking outside the box and being innovative and creative with our resources has been very effective in leading to positive results for our citizens. I hope this enthusiasm is evident throughout Sherman, and I’m really looking forward to the many great things that are in store for our wonderful city.”

Plyler was first elected to the council in 2011 and then re-elected in 2014, before running unopposed for mayor in 2015.

Neblett Elementary Library Associate Sandra Melton filed for the At-Large Place 2 position Monday, meaning she will be running against former Planning & Zoning Commission member Joe Gilbert for the seat. Seeking the At-Large Place 1 seat are former Parks and Recreation Advisory Board member Sholdon Daniels and current council member Willie Steele.

Steele was voted into the At-Large, Place 1 position during a special election last November after being appointed to the position before the election following the resignation of former council member Kevin Couch to run for state representative for District 62. As Couch’s resignation happened more than a year before the end of his term, the city was required to call a special election to fill the unexpired term through November of this year.

The At-Large, Place 2 seat on the council is currently filled by Jason Sofey, who is completing his second full term on the council and is not eligible for re-election to that position. Sofey was first elected to the council in November 2012 and re-elected in November 2015.

The council officially called the elections during its meeting Monday, and also approved a joint election agreement to hold the municipal races in conjunction with the county election.

All municipal positions will be voted on at-large by the citizens of Sherman. Early voting will start on Oct. 22 and continue through Nov. 2. On Mondays through Saturdays of those weeks, voting will take place from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. and voters can cast ballots from noon to 5 p.m. on Sundays.

Early voting ballots can be cast at the Grayson County Elections Administration Office, 115 W. Houston in Sherman; Grayson County Sub-Courthouse, 101 W. Woodard in Denison; Pottsboro Independent School District Administration Building, 105 Cardinal Lane in Pottsboro; Whitesboro City Hall, 111 W. Main in Whitesboro; and Grayson College, 1455 W. Van Alstyne Pkwy. in Van Alstyne.

Offices up for election at the county level include the Grayson County judge, judges of the county Courts-at-Law 1 and 2, Grayson County district clerk, Grayson County clerk, county commissioners for Precincts 2 and 4, and the unexpired term of the Grayson County district attorney.

The final date to register to vote in the Nov. 6 election is Oct. 9. The final Day to submit an application to vote by mail is Oct. 26.