The two men who want to replace Republican Larry Phillips as the state representative for District 62 in the Texas Legislature will face each other in a runoff on May 22 and early voting for that race starts Monday and continues through Friday.

Former Grayson County Republican Party Chair Reggie Smith and Van Alstyne Engineer Brent Lawson are vying to see who will face Democrat Valerie Hefner and Libertarian David Schaab in the November general election.

In the spring primary, Smith and Lawson beat former Sherman City Councilor Kevin Couch. Smith received 45.77 percent of the total votes cast in the race — 7,885 votes — and Lawson got 34.34 percent of the votes — 5,916 votes. Couch’s 3,423 total votes accounted for 19.87 percent of the total ballots cast.

Voters can cast early votes from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at any one of the following locations:

Grayson County Election Administration, 115 W. Houston in Sherman; Grayson County Sub-Courthouse, 101 W. Woodard in Denison; Pottsboro Independent School District Administration Building, 105 Cardinal Lane, in Pottsboro; Whitesboro City Hall, 111 W. Main in Whitesboro; Grayson College, 1455 W. Van Alstyne Parkway, in Van Alstyne.

The ballot will also include the following candidates:


Justice, 5th Court of Appeals District, Place 12

William “Randy” Johnson

Jim Piki

Grayson County Justice of the Peace Precinct 3

Damon Vannoy

Tom Worsham, Jr.

Grayson County Precinct No. 207 Chairman

Linda Arnold

Shelly Smith



Lupe Valdez

Andrew White