Van Alstyne voters put a spin on the city’s council and mayor jobs, electing three who had never run before to those seats.

There were three candidates for Van Alstyne mayor and Steve Riley took 307 votes, or 70 percent of those cast to win the position. Donnie J. Neill got 113 votes for a total of 26 percent and Kevin Soucie received 19 votes, for 4 percent of the tally.

City Council Place 1 had two people vying for that chair and Ryan T. Neal won with 63 percent, or 270 votes, while Kaaren Teuber had 160 votes cast for her, or 37 percent.

“I thank the voters of Van Alstyne,” Neal said. “It has been such a wonderful experience campaigning. I am eager to begin serving this city.”

City Council Place 2 had Marla E. Butler and incumbent/mayor pro tem Teddie Ann Salmon challenging one another. Butler won with 246 votes, or 57 percent of the 433 votes cast, to Salmon’s 187, or 43 percent of the votes.

“What a great experience running for council of our community,” Butler said, after learning she had won a seat on the council. “Van Alstyne has voted for a change and for professionalism as our city moves forward into a bright future. Thank you for this opportunity to serve.”

City Council Place 3 originally had two contestants, but one pulled out shortly after signing up, leaving incumbent Robert Jaska taking 100 percent of the 329 votes cast in that race.

Jaska and Riley could not be reached for comment Saturday.

The current council, consisting of Brad Clough, Suzon Crowell, Lee Thomas, Jaska and Salmon meets Tuesday night, with one item on the agenda having them canvassing the election.

The current council will continue to include Thomas and Crowell, both of whom have one year left on their terms, to work in the future with Neal, Butler and Jaska, with Riley serving as mayor. City Clerk Jennifer Gould said they cannot assume the duties of office until sworn in and no sooner than May 11.