The Sherman City Council will canvass the city’s recent election and seat its new council members during its regular meeting Monday at 5 p.m. in the council chambers of City Hall, 220 W. Mulberry St.

The first item on Monday’s agenda will be canvassing the results of the recent regular and special municipal elections and making them official. Following that, City Clerk Linda Ashby will swear in new council members Josh Stevenson and Daron Holland, as well as returning council member Willie Steele.

Stevenson won the District 2 seat over Commie O. Linson and takes over the seat from Terrence Steele, who chose not to seek re-election this year. Terrence Steele was elected to the council in November 2014 after previously serving from 2002 to 2008.

Holland was running unopposed for the District 4 council seat that is being vacated by Charles H. Brown Sr., who also opted not to run for re-election this year. Brown was elected last year in a special election to fill the unexpired term left when Sherman Mayor David Plyler vacated the seat following his election as mayor.

Willie Steele defeated Ronald Rose for the at-large, Place 1 seat. Willie Steele was appointed to the position in September after former council member Kevin Couch resigned to run for state representative for District 62.

Following the seating of its new members, the council will elect a deputy mayor for a new one year term. Council member Jason Sofey, who is the longest tenured member of the council other than Mayor David Plyler, has served as deputy mayor since Plyler was elected mayor in 2015.

With its new members, the council will also consider appointments to the Council Audit Committee, Investment Committee, Tax Reinvestment Committee, Tax Increment Financing Board No. 1, TIF Board No. 2, TIF Board No. 3, TIF Board No. 5 and TIF Board No. 6.

A pair of resolutions pertaining to the creation and participation in a new Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 7 will also be considered by the council. The new TIRZ will cover the area southeast of the intersection of U.S. Highway 75 and FM 1417, where Schulman’s Movie Bowl Grille announced plans to build an entertainment and retail development.

The council will also consider several resolutions awarding contracts for construction of the Northgate Drive extension, phase two of the Sherman Streetscape project, public facilities in phase one of the Sherman Corners development, and engineering design for the reversal of northbound U.S. Highway 75 entrance and exit ramps just south of FM 1417.

A public hearing will be held on the placement of a permanent stop sign on Sistrunk Drive at Dripping Springs Road for northbound and southbound traffic.

Community and Support Services Manager Nate Strauch will give the council an update on several projects the city has been working on. Strauch’s presentation will include a video from the city’s drone.

Near the end of the meeting, the council will go into a closed executive session to discuss personnel matters, deliberate on economic development negotiations and consult with the city attorney on pending litigation. Following the executive session, the council will reconvene into open session to take any actions deemed necessary. The council will also then consider a resolution to cast votes to elect candidates to serve as members on the Grayson Central Appraisal District’s board of directors.