Sherman voters picked Grayson County Health Department Public Health Emergency Preparedness Manager Josh Stevenson as the newest member of City Council.

Stevenson received 2,393 votes — 65.89 percent — cast by Sherman voters in the District 2 seat, while Commie O. Linson, a local pastor, received 1,239 votes — 34.11 percent.

“I had a lot of great support from folks here in Sherman,” Stevenson said. “It’s an honor, and I’m going to do my best to live up to the trust the people of Sherman have put in me.”

Stevenson takes over the District 2 council seat from Terrence Steele, who chose not to seek re-election this year. Steele was elected to the council in November 2014 after previously serving from 2002 to 2008.

Stevenson also commended Linson for running, saying she ran a good race.

“I think the election went great,” Linson said. “I just say congratulations to Josh for winning. The citizens of Sherman have spoken, and I’m just thankful to get as many votes as I got. I stand behind Josh. This is our district and he’s my council member now, so I’m right there with him.”

Despite the loss, Linson said she would run for the council again and may seek an at-large position in the future.

In his new position as a council member, Stevenson said he’d like to take a hard look at Sherman’s operating budget.

“It’s been growing at a pretty exponential rate,” Stevenson said. “I’d like to work to try to give Sherman residents some tax relief from that growth. But at the same time, I understand we are growing and more people are moving here, and we really need to focus on our infrastructure. We can’t just raise taxes indefinitely. We need to grow that tax base and that’s something I’m really dedicated to doing.”

Sherman voters also cast 2,975 votes for Daron Holland, who was running unopposed for the District 4 council seat that is being vacated by Charles H. Brown Sr., who opted not to run for re-election this year. Brown was elected last year in a special election to fill the unexpired term left when Sherman Mayor David Plyler vacated the seat following his election as mayor.

The other contested council race in Tuesday’s election saw Willie Steele defeat Ronald Rose for the at-large, Place 1 seat. Steele received 2,365 votes — 67.86 percent — cast, while Rose received 1,120 votes — 32.14 percent. The at-large, Place 1 seat is currently held by Willie Steele, who was appointed to the position in September after former council member Kevin Couch resigned to run for state representative for District 62.