Denison Genealogy Society

Denison Genealogy Society

The Denison Genealogy Society will meet from 1:30 p.m. until 3:30 p.m. Wednesday at the Sherman Public Library.

Bringing the program wll be Michael Miller, the genealogy reference librarian. He will be discussing the Sherman library and what is has to offer genealogists.

Society president, Steve Scheinost, will lead in a group discussion of various topics. Officer and committee reports will be given.

The society meets at 1:30 p.m. the last Wednesday of each month. For more information, send an email to or use a Facebook search for "DenisonTX.Genealogical Society."

Texoma Squares Dance Club

The Texoma Squares Dance Club will have its regular dance this Saturday at the club house, 929 Desvoignes Road in Denison. A workshop begins at 7:30 p.m. and the grand march at 8 p.m. with Skip Gates as the caller. Visitors are welcome.

Food will be available from the chuck wagon.

For more information, call Katrina Vandergriff at 903-267-3320 or Gayle Guthrie at 903-421-4251.

Red River Rose Society

The Red River Rose Society recently met at the Grayson County Courthouse.

Presenting the program were Gerald Frimann and Sue Abernathy, charter members of the society. They discussed the Community Collaborative Rain, Hail and Snow Network (CoCoRaHs), a network of volunteers across the country who record and report local precipitation daily using a rain gauge. Frimann and Abernathy volunteer to provide Grayson County data.

The network was started by the University of Colorado in response to a massive flood in Fort Collins in 1997. The information is reported on-line by participants. The data allows experts to record a detailed analysis of drought and flood areas throughout the country in order to make more accurate predictions of potentially dangerous developments. More information is available at

Door prizes were awarded to SueZanne Petersen, Frimann and Marilyn Odom.

The society next meets at 6:30 p.m. on Feb. 18 at the Denison Public Library.


The North Texas Council of the Philanthropic Educational Organization (PEO) recently observed PEO Founders’ Day. The gathering was held at the Denison Country Club and hosted by the Sherman and McKinney chapters. Attending were 75 women representing 14 north Texas PEO chapters.

PEO was founded by seven young women in 1869 at Iowa Wesleyan College. The group provides encouragement and support for women to realize their potential through educational opportunities. More than 90,000 women have benefited through grands, loans and special awards. The PEO also owns Cottey College in Nevada, Missouri.

Triple L Club

The Triple L Club of the First Baptist Church of Sherman met Jan. 21 with 30 members in attendance.

President Paul Larson opened the session with a prayer. Richard Lair led a sing-a-long, accompanied by Susan Pedigo, pianist. Happy anniversary was sung to Val and Alan Stephens and the birthday song was sung to Bettie Sykes.

Dorothy Mills presented the treasurer’s report. A business meeting was then held and officers for the new year were announced.

Guest speaker was Steve Kimberlin, introduced by Jean McConnell. He presented a topic entitled "What Matters."

Harry Gates closed the meeting with a prayer and blessing for the luncheon that followed.

The next "Play Day" will be from 9:30 a.m. until noon on Feb. 4. The next regular meeting will be at 10:30 a.m. on Feb. 18 at the church.

Martha Jefferson Randolph NSDAR

The Martha Jefferson Randolph Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution (NSDAR) met Jan. 16 at the Denison Country Club for its annual business meeting. After a Dutch-treat luncheon, the meeting was called to order by Regent Beverly Martin.

The ritual and pledges to the American and Texas flags were led by Sonja Hoffman, Janie Bice and Leta Koch. The American Creed and Preamble to the Constitution were led by Ann McDougal and Barbara Riza.

The annual business meeting of any NSDAR chapter is devoted to reports given by officers and committee chairwomen. The reports are an overview of everything the group accomplished the last 18 months and plans for the next six months. The bi-annual election of officers who take office in June is also held.

Denise Green, nominating committee chairwoman, and her committee consisting of Denise Green, Melanie Grammar and Barbara Franklin gave ballots to all members eligible to vote. The ballots were collected and tallied by Ann May and Helen Eller. The new officers elected for the 2014-2016 term were: regent, Carol Holden; vice regent, Denise Green; recording secretary, Leslie Von Bergen; registrar, Beverly Martin; treasurer, Sarah Beaver; historian, Cheryl Waters; corresponding secretary, Linda Green; and chaplain, Ann McDougal. They will take office June 1.

Officer reports were issued by Holden who discussed the duties of the vice regent and the changes brought about by the group’s officers. Von Bergen, reported on the chapter’s financial status and Waters gave statistics on membership numbers, reporting a steady increase. Hoffman reported on memorial services and other duties of her office.

Mae Burton, Community Service Award chairwoman, reported that the winner of the award has been selected and will be announced at the April meeting. Janet Kamras, Good Citizen chairwoman, and Barbara Franklin, MJR Scholarship, also noted that results of their committee findings will be announced at the April meeting .

Year-end reports were given by Nancy McCaughan, national defense, May Nan Rogers, American Indians, Claudette Little, DAR schools, and Teddie Ann Salmon, historic preservation. May spoke on Constitution Weeks and plans for a national bell ringing. McDougal encouraged members to submit their handicrafts for the various contests for state and national contests. Judy Aleman, Outstanding History Teacher Award chairwoman, gave an update on the submission of this year’s entrant.

Following the business session, drawings for "Voices" were conducted by Janie Bice and Lane Smith.

Hoffman gave the benediction.