The National Association of Retired and Veteran Railway Employees (NARVRE) met Friday. Conducting the session was Derl Tucker, outgoing president.

New officers were installed and include: Bobby White, president; Delbert Taylor, first vice president; Harry Gates, second vice president; Joyce Nichols, third vice president; Bettye Henry, secretary; and Fran Tucker, treasurer. Harry Gates will serve as chaplain and Lyle "Cookie" Nelson will be the legislative director.

The door prize was won by Bettye Henry.

The group meets the second Friday of each month at the First Christian Church in Denison. All railroaders and their spouses are welcome to attend.

Modern Woodmen

The Sherman chapter of Modern Woodmen of America has announced the new board of directors. They include Matt Finke and Monty Chambers, both of Sherman, and Robin Gilbert, Shana Stonebarger, Teresa Finke and Chrissie Gilbert, all of Denison.

Coordinated by local Modern Woodmen members, the chapters provide opportunities to take part in social activities and community service projects to meet local needs. Annually, Modern Woodmen and its members provide nearly $29 million and one million volunteer hours for community projects nationwide.