During the first week of early voting, 1,670 votes were cast in Grayson County from Monday through Thursday. The Sherman Independent School District’s bond is included alongside Pottsboro Independent School District, Howe Independent School District and S&S Consolidated Independent School District bonds on the ballot.

The $176 million SISD bond package would feature districtwide technology updates, a new high school facility, and the reconfiguration of the middle schools and elementaries in making use of the old Sherman High School building. The new high school will have a capacity of 2,300 students and will be over 453,000 square feet in size. The cost for the new facility is estimated at $157,871,390. The bond will be funded by a 21-cent per $100 valuation increase in the tax rate.

For those with a home valued at $100,000 this comes out to approximately an additional $17.50 per month. (That does not take into account the $25,000 homestead exemption that is available on a taxpayer’s primary residence.) Tax rate increases were considered between 20 cents and 23 cents. The board settled at the 21-cent increase and said it would cover immediate concerns and allow some work to begin for the future.

Statewide ballots include seven constitutional amendments. The city of Sherman has city council candidates and charter amendments up for election. If elected the city of Tioga’s local option liquor election would legalize the sale of all alcoholic beverages including mixed beverages.

Within Grayson County, voters are able to cast votes at any voting site. Voting sites include: The Grayson County Elections Administration Building, 115 W. Houston in Sherman; Grayson County Sub-Courthouse, 101 W. Woodard in Denison; Pottsboro ISD Administration Building, 105 Cardinal Lane in Pottsboro; Whitesboro City Hall, 111 W. Main in Whitesboro; and Grayson College, 1455 W. Van Alstyne Pkwy, in Van Alstyne.

Early voting continues with dates scheduled as follows: October 29, 12 p.m. — 5 p.m.; Oct. 30-Nov. 1, 8 a.m. — 5 p.m.; and Nov. 2-3 Thursday-Friday 7 a.m. — 7 p.m.

Official Election Day voting will last from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on November 7th.