After the municipal election on Nov. 7, the Sherman City Council will have two new members.

Three candidates filled out the necessary paperwork to run for the two seats up for election during the regular filing period that ended Monday, though prospective candidates can still file as a write-in candidate through Friday. Daron Holland is currently unopposed for the District 4 council seat, while the District 2 council seat will see Josh Stevenson and Commie O. Linson running for it.

The District 2 seat is currently held by Terrence Steele and District 4 is filled by Charles H. Brown Sr., both of whom opted not to run for re-election to the council. Steele was elected to the council in November 2014 after previously serving from 2002 to 2008. Brown was elected last year in a special election to fill the unexpired term left when Sherman Mayor David Plyler vacated the seat following his election as mayor.

Candidates can obtain the necessary applications and supporting documents to file as a write-in candidate for the council election from the City Clerk’s Office in City Hall, 220 W. Mulberry St.

Candidates seeking office must live in the district they wish to represent, though all positions are voted on at-large by the residents of Sherman. Prospective candidates must be a U.S. citizen, at least 21 years old, a registered voter and a resident of Sherman for the last 12 months. Other requirements for candidacy are listed in the candidate election packet.

District 2 is in Northeast Sherman, north of the railroad track behind Washington Street and east of Travis Street. District 4 is in southwest Sherman, south of the railroad track behind Washington Street and to the west of Travis Street.

Additional information on the candidacy process can be obtained by contacting the City Clerk’s Office at 903-892-7204.