The Sherman City Council recently made some changes to the membership of the city’s Planning & Zoning Commission.

The council unanimously approved a motion to remove Chris Velotti and Sam Thorpe from the commission and a separate motion to name Clay Mahone the group’s new chairman. David Downtain and Trish Bridges were also appointed to the newly vacant commission seats.

Council member Terrence Steele, who made the motion to remove Velotti and Thorpe, said the pair were taken off of the commission because of the number of meetings they had missed.

“One had missed 10 meetings and the other missed seven meetings,” Steele said. “And to me that’s important that you have attendance, especially on a board that’s as important as that.”

The city of Sherman’s website states commission members “are responsible for making recommendations to the City Council on zoning and subdivision matters.” The commission, and its board of adjustments, considers requests for zoning changes, exceptions and variances, as well as reviewing new development plans in relation to current zoning laws.

Council member Kevin Couch made the motion to have Mahone take over the chairman duties from Joe Gilbert, who has served as the commission’s chairman since its July 2014 meeting. Mahone joined the commission in November 2015.

“There are a lot of new businesses and families excited to come to Sherman and grow here, so it’s a real honor to be involved in that growth and planning with our city,” Mahone said via email. “I’ve really enjoyed serving on P&Z so far and I think we have a great group of diverse people serving on the commission.”

Steele said it would be up to Gilbert whether he decided to remain on the commission. The city’s website currently lists him as a commission member.

“His term as the president had expired last year and he was just serving month to month,” Steele said of Gilbert.

Downtain’s and Bridges’ first meeting as members will be the commission’s next regular meeting, which is scheduled for May 16 at 5 p.m. in the council chambers of City Hall.