Grayson County Commissioners approved a resolution Tuesday morning to allow the sale of fireworks for Memorial Day.

Per Texas State law, local commissioners courts have discretion to allow the sale of fireworks for the following holiday periods: Texas Independence Day, San Jacinto Day and Memorial Day.

“There are three periods during which fireworks can be sold in addition to the traditional times we’re use to, which is New Year’s Day and Fourth of July,” Grayson County Emergency Management Coordinator Sarah Somers said to the commissioners.

From the approved resolution, the sale period begins the Wednesday before the last Monday in May and ends at midnight on the last Monday in May — so it runs from May 24 to midnight on May 29.

Somers noted the commissioners court acts only on behalf of the unincorporated areas, so this resolution does not apply to Sherman, Denison or other municipalities.

“What we were authorizing was particularly the sale that people could get that permit to sell fireworks,” Somers said.